Wednesday, May 11, 2011

New Release Review

Bailey Flanigan series; book 1

by Karen Kingsbury
Zondervan, 2011

Reviewed by Diane Busch

Although this is Book 1 of the Bailey Flanigan series, it reads like the continuing story of all your favorite characters, if you have been reading Karen Kingsbury novels for a few years.  It picks up where "Take Four" (Book 4 of the Above the Line series) left off.  Yet, if you have never read these previous book, you can start here and not miss a beat.

Beloved Bailey Flanigan pursues her dream of being on Broadway.  Cody Coleman pursues his dream of being a football coach. And the saga of their "on again, off again" relationship continues. Her future is uncertain; his future is uncertain. Will there futures ever merge?

Throughout the book you have the opportunity to experience life in several places, as Bailey and her family live in Bloomington, Indiana, but they travel to New York City and Malibu, California.  You also get the sense of what it would be like to be famous and followed by cameras and reporters everywhere you go.

Bailey's Christian life is an example that all young women should aspire to.  There is much to be learned from these fictional characters about family life, prayer and being a follower of Christ in all circumstances.

Many thanks to Zondervan who provided this book free of charge for the purpose of review.

No comments:

Post a Comment